Society Awards and Fellowships

Applications for the Ian McKenzie, Aviva Rosenfeld, Mark Cocks and Lafferty Awards
OPEN March 1 and CLOSE April 30


This prestigious award recognises researchers who have demonstrated excellence and exceptional contribution in the field of transplantation. 

Preference will be given to applicants who are within 10 years of embarking on their own research programme either in the field of basic science, clinical research or both.  The defining period for assessment will be the postdoctoral research years or a similar independent research period. 

Click here to view the Eligibility and Application Process

This award has been established in honour of Aviva Rosenfeld, the TSANZ Executive Officer from 1996 to 2015.

The Aviva award will recognise an outstanding clinician (including physicians, surgeons, nurses, psychologists, social workers, other allied health professionals) who has demonstrated excellence in patient care in transplantation – by putting patients/families first, involving patients in care, communicating effectively and providing compassionate and empathetic care.

Click here to view Eligibility and Application Process

Click here for the Application form

This prestigious award is to recognise the life of Mark Cocks and his contribution to Transplant Australia and the wider transplant community. It has been generously offered by Transplant Australia through their Team Life programme.

Click here to view the eligibility and Application Process

The TSANZ/Lafferty Award is named in memory of Kevin Lafferty, an Australian pioneer in transplantation biology who discovered that co-stimulation was required for T cell activation and graft rejection. The award was inaugurated in 2016 and is presented every 2 years to recognise a member of the society who has made significant and outstanding contributions to the advancement of transplantation in Australia and New Zealand and to the TSANZ. This is a late career award and applicants may be scientists or clinicians who have made a significant contribution aligned with the TSANZ/Lafferty strategic vision

Click here to view the eligibility and Application Process

Starting in 2017, this biennial award is to recognise the life of Josette Eris and her contribution to Transplantation.  The target candidate is a emerging female leader in the field of Transplantation.  

Not being awarded in 2024