Awards and Fellowships

The Society provides a number of benefits for members, which include support to attend national and international transplantation meetings and reduced fees at meetings sponsored by the Society.

TRAVEL AWARDS to attend International Transplantation Meetings

:  These travel awards are made available to facilitate eligible TSANZ Student and Early career Investigator members to attend international meetings relevant to transplantation. 

The award will support travel and registration for the meeting.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Be a financial member of the Society of 12 months standing from the date of approval of membership to the Society to the date of the meeting

  2. Be a full time or part time student enrolled for a higher degree (student) or Early Career Basic (within 5 years of their highest degree) or Clinical (within 3 years of completing their highest degree/specialist qualification) Researcher.

  3. Senior investigator in a non-clinical position may apply

  4. Be submitting an abstract as a presenting author at a transplantation-oriented meeting (must have abstract accepted to receive the travel grant funds)

  5. Not be in receipt of a bursary from the meeting organisers and must have applied (if eligible) for such a bursary

  6. Attend and present their abstract

  7. No discrimination between oral and poster presentations

  8. Applicants may apply twice in a five-year period

  9. When there are too many eligible applicants, preference will be given to those not previously supported

  10. The Board will not score abstracts

Closing Dates   There will be two (2) closing dates per year :

1st December for meetings held 1 January - 31 May
1st May for meetings held 1 June – 31 December

Selection Process:

The TSANZ SPEC will review the applications and award travel grants to each eligible applicant up to the value of $2,500.

Successful applicants must supply a brief summary of meeting highlights to the TSANZ office for inclusion in the annual TSANZ newsletter.

A minimum of 4 grants per round will be awarded.

Click HERE to download an Application Form 

TSANZ IAN McKENZIE Prize for Outstanding Contribution in Transplantation

TSANZ AVIVA ROSENFELD Award for Excellence in Patient Care in Transplantation

The MARK COCKS Award - Sponsored by Transplant Australia

TSANZ biennial LAFFERTY Distinguished Service Award

TSANZ biennial JOSETTE ERIS Memorial Award (not awarded in 2024)