Registration CLOSING June 3

TSANZ 2020/2021 award winners

2020/2021 Award Winners have been announced

Congratulations to all of the Winners

During the 39th TSANZ virtual Annual Scientific Meeting, winners were announced by President, Professor Toby Coates at the Awards night on the 15th March 2021.

The Mark Cocks Award (Sponsored by Transplant Australia)

This prestigious award is to recognise the life of Mark Cocks and his contribution to Transplant Australia and the wider transplant community. It has been generously offered by Transplant Australia through their Team Life program.

2021 Winner - Nicole De la Mata

TSANZ Aviva Rosenfeld Award for Excellence in Patient Care in Transplantation

This award has been established in honour of Aviva Rosenfeld, the TSANZ Executive Officer from 1996 to 2015.

​The Aviva award will recognise an outstanding clinician (including physicians, surgeons, nurses, psychologists, social workers, other allied health professionals) who has demonstrated excellence in patient care in transplantation – by putting patients/families first, involving patients in care, communicating effectively and providing compassionate and empathetic care.

2020 Winner - Danielle Sweeney

2021 Winner - Kathy Kable

TSANZ Ian McKenzie Prize for Outstanding Contribution in Transplantation

This prestigious award recognises researchers who have demonstrated excellence and exceptional contribution in the field of transplantation.

Preference will be given to applicants who are within 10 years of embarking on their own research program either in the field of basic science, clinical research or both. The defining period for assessment will be the postdoctoral research years or a similar independent research period.

2021 Winner - Frank Ierino

The Josette Eris Memorial Award (Sponsored by Astellas)

This biennial award, kindly sponsored by Astellas, is to recognise the life of Josette Eris and her contribution to Transplantation. The target candidate is a emerging female leader in the field of Transplantation.

​2021 Winner - Kate Wyburn

KHA Awards (Sponsored by Kidney Health Australia)

2021 Winner (Clinical Research) - Darren Lee

2021 Winner (Laboratory Research) - Debbie Watson

Lafferty Award

2020 Winner - Mauro Sandrin 

President Prize People's Choice Award (Clinical Science)

2021 Winner - Dylan Barnett

2020 Winner - Ahmer Hameed

President Prize People's Choice Award (Basic Science)

2021 Winner - Leigh Nicholson

2020 Winner - Eric Son

President Prize (Clinical Science)

2021 Winner - Ankit Sharma

2020 Winner - Ahmer Hameed

President Prize (Basic Science)

2021 Winner - Nathan Zammit

2020 Winner - Eric Son

Best Poster (Clinical Science)

2021 Winner - Samuel Shun Kwan Chan

Best Poster (Basic Science)

2021 Winner - Jennifer Louise McRae

Early Career Researchers Award (Clinical Science) (Sponsored by Novartis)

2021 Winners -

Dylan Barnett

James Hedley

Georgina Irish

Brenda Maria Rosales

Ankit Sharma

Karen Waller

Denghao Wu

Jinna Yao

Peter Daechul Yoon


Early Career Researchers Award (Basic Science)

2021 Winners -

Peter Cuthbertson

Sarah Dart

Atharva Kale

Mario Leong

Jennifer Li

​Leigh Nicholson

Moumita Paul

Griffith Boord Perkins

Jeanette Villanueva

Nathan Zammit